Astrology for the aesthetically inclined. Fashion, beauty and adornment with celebrity zodiac signs.

5 Ways To Work The Summer Solstice Into Your Beauty Rituals…

What to do on the first day of summer, and the longest day of the year!


Yes, we love the moon but lets now honour the sun with summer SOLstice rituals – not forgetting to make them utterly BEAUTIFUL!

  • Sydney – Saturday June 22nd 2019 at 2.00 am
  • Hong Kong – Saturday June 22nd 2019 at 00.00 am
  • New Delhi – Friday, June 21st 2019 at 9.30 pm
  • Moscow – Friday, June 21st 2019 at 7.00 pm
  • Paris – Friday, June 21st 2019 at 6.00 pm
  • London – Friday, June 21st 2019 at 5.00 pm
  • New York – Friday, June 21st 2019 at 12.00 pm
  • Los Angeles – Friday, June 21st 2019 at 9.00 am

Friday, June 21st 2019 is the longest day of the year.

Summer Solstice (the solstice at midsummer) gives us the most amount of daylight, so there’s a lot of light available to use for our beauty rituals.

With LIGHT available to us we can be the most present with ourselves.

We can be the most clear about our EGO – the Sun represents the “I am” consciousness. Akin to the Leo zodiac sign it’s a great time to get back in touch with your core qualities – the qualities of your SUN sign.

Solar energies are related to brightness, expansion, and success.

In the olden days, Midsummer saw crops in the field not yet ready to be gathered, warmly expressing their abundance. With positivity in the air, not yet ready for the toil of Harvest (and Virgo-work season) it marks a time to celebrate!

This is truly a time to kick back and smile – no wonder people adore a summer holiday – it’s truly time to take off!

Beauty Rituals For The Summer Solstice

5 Ways To Bring You Into Alignment With The Season…

Here are my suggestions to enhance your beauty rituals…

1. Use A Midas Touch

The lucky color for Leo and the one most linked to the sun is gorgeous gold!

Yves Saint Laurent Gold Hair Buns…

Adorn hair with an accessory that brings out the best of summer…

These earrings that celebrate the sun…

Via Izaskunzabala.com, Sol XL Hoops…

2. Be Beautifully Bronzed

Praise be to the sun! He helps us get a golden glow…

However you don’t need to sit baking in the sun to get the desired effect, with so many fabulous compacts available to give you a sun kissed look (although we all need Vit D!)

summer-solstice-beauty-guerlain

Celebrate the SOL–stice with a sunny addition to your beauty bag – a bronzer or tanning product…

3. Practice Sun Salutations

cropped-yoga-sun-salutation-surya-namaskar2

Yoga body = happy body, happy body = beautiful body!

Show gratitude in a morning meditation on this the longest day of the year – you can’t say you don’t have time!

4. Flower Power

A old tradition for women is to pick seven different species of flowers during Midsummer.

In medieval times, herbs and flowers picked during the summer solstice were believed to carry extra healing energy, with sacred plants including:

  • Chamomile
  • Daisy
  • Fern
  • Ivy
  • Joan’s Wort (aka. St. John’s Wort)
  • Lavender
  • Mugwort
  • Vervain and
  • Yarrow.

Traditionally, women go to the fields and gather different kinds of wild flowers and grasses, with the folklore promising that if you slept with these under your pillow, you’d dream of your future mate.

I personally LOVE sunflowers! Celebrate with a summer solstice ritual bringing this joyful bloom into your home and add a splash of warm yellow in your beauty.

5. Bring The Sun Home

Sol, the sun can be worshipped at this time, and we can remind our self of its life-giving generosity using a touch of warmth in our products.

zagara3

Use those that remind you of the significance of the sun: benevolent, honest and true.

Have a luxurious bath with this Ortigia Sicilia soak. It carries the exotic fragrance of orange blossom – a feast for the senses.

Up Next